Land of Fire

What is the population of Azerbaijani major cities?

Azerbaijan is the most populous of the republics of the Caucasus. After the Baku conurbation, the largest towns are Ganja, Sumgayit, Mingechevir, Nakhchivan, Ali-Bayramli, Khankendi and Sheki. The capital of Azerbaijan is Baku. The city covers 192,000 hectares.


Which religions are represented in Azerbaijan?

Religious freedom is stipulated in the Azerbaijani Constitution. Under the constitution religion is separate from the state and all religions are equal before the law. There is no official religion of the country. The majority of the population in Azerbaijan is Muslim. There are five Russian Orthodox, three Georgian Orthodox, one Armenian Gregorian and 13 Old Believers churches (some of which are ‘Molokan’ churches),  as well as three Jewish synagogues, one Lutheran church, six  Baptist churches and one place of worship for the Bahai and Hare Krishna faiths.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *